Online Chat March 20 from eXtension features Feeding Supplements for Horses

HorseQuest, the online resource from the nation’s Cooperative Extension services, will host a one-hour chat about feeding supplements Tuesday, March 20. Horse enthusiasts across the country can log into their computers to learn about best practices and ask questions. The chat is at 3 p.m. Eastern, 2 p.m. Central, 1 p.m. Mountain and 12 noon Pacific time. Join in at www.extension.org/horses.

The chat will be hosted by Bob Mowrey, extension horse husbandry coordinator at North Carolina State University, Bob Van Saun, extension veterinarian from Penn State University, and Carey Williams, equine extension specialist at Rutgers University in New Jersey. Betsy Greene from the University of Vermont will be the moderator.

“Feed supplements for horses can be over used resulting in essentially unbalanced rations. Feeding multiple supplements may be a repetition of the same nutrients and can be at potentially detrimental levels. This may result in a waste of excess nutrients, drive up feeding costs and potentially cause toxicity,” Williams said.

Equine experts host chats quarterly on HorseQuest, www.extension.org/horses. Upcoming sessions are on managing horses on small acreages (May), conditioning horses for different equine events (September) and selection of a first horse (November).

HorseQuest offers more than chat sessions. Consumers can get answers to questions from leading experts; take self-paced lessons on how to care for and choose the right horse; find the latest information on feeding, breeding, health and selection; check a calendar of upcoming equine events across the county; read equine news from universities across the county and even take a certificate credit course at My Horse University.

HorseQuest is a community within eXtension, an educational partnership of more than 70 land grant universities helping Americans improve their lives with access to timely, objective, research-based information and educational opportunities.

eXtension’s interactive Web resource, www.extension.org, is customized with links to local Cooperative Extension Web sites. Land-grant colleges were founded on the ideals that higher education should be accessible to all, that the college should teach liberal and practical subjects, and share the college’s knowledge with people throughout their states.