January 2012 Extension Professional Development

January holds seven different topics offered by eXtension Communities of Practice (CoPs) and eXtension for your professional development! See the list of professional development events at http://learn.extension.org. For each topic you’ll find a description, date/time and length, as well as information on where to connect to the online session. Pick a topic, and attend through your computer browser!

You’ll also see a new look and features at Learn.extension.org beginning next week. With the update you can sign in to get text/email notifications for events right before they start and to comment on and rate events, in addition to marking events you attended, watched or in which you have an interest.

If you or your colleagues offer professional development online that’s open to others in Cooperative Extension, please add the information at Learn.extension.org by logging in with your eXtensionID and click “Create a new event.”

PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT TOPICS

See details for each session at http://learn.extension.org.

Institutional Team Web Conference
January 10, 2012 at 2:30 p.m. EST (1:30pm Central; 12:30 Mountain, 11:30 am Pacific; 10:30am Alaska; 8:30am Hawaii)

What’s New at Learn.extension.org?
January 11, 2012 at 2:00 PM EST (1pm Central; Noon Mountain, 11am Pacific; 10am Alaska; 8am Hawaii)

Lameness, Hoof, and Leg Issues in Dairy Cattle
January 12, 2012 at 1:00 PM EST (Noon Central; 11am Mountain, 10am Pacific; 9am Alaska; 7am Hawaii)

Maps, Apps and Mobile Media Marketing
January 12, 2012 at 2:00 PM EST (1pm Central; Noon Mountain, 11am Pacific; 10am Alaska; 8am Hawaii)

Teaching Financial Literacy Through Immersive Role Play: A Visit to the Isle of Financial Capability
January 18, 2012 at 4:00 PM EST (3pm Central; 2pm Mountain, 1pm Pacific; Noon Alaska; 10am Hawaii)

The Health Benefits of Blueberries
January 19, 2012 at 11:00 AM EST (10am Central; 9am Mountain, 8am Pacific; 7am Alaska; 5am Hawaii)

Leading Through Change: The Unique Role Communication Units Play in Organizational Change
January 25, 2012 at 2:00 PM EST (1pm Central; Noon Mountain, 11am Pacific; 10am Alaska; 8am Hawaii)

Please share this announcement with others and encourage them to pick a topic and try it out. All sessions are open to all Cooperative Extension faculty, staff and employees. You may indicate your interest on the page for each PD Event at http://learn.extension.org (log in with your eXtensionID). These are great opportunities to learn together.

For complete descriptions and details go to http://learn.extension.org/. See information for each session, an overview of upcoming eXtension Professional Development sessions, links to historical sessions (and recordings once they are available). Log-in with your eXtension ID to indicate your interest in and attendance of the offered sessions. Add your professional development events that are open to extension.

Each PD Event page has a unique URL. Use it to include your favorite session links in Twitter, Facebook and more! If your extension service or CoP has held professional development and has an open recording available, add it at learn.extension.org!

Any web-based professional development sessions open to Cooperative Extension may be listed at http://learn.extension.org. Look there under Upcoming Events (http://www.extension.org/learn/events/upcoming), browse by recent tags, or search to find professional development in your areas of interest. If you know of professional development events that are open to Cooperative Extension but not yet listed there, please add them by clicking “Create a new PD Event.” Each event then has a URL that may be used to share with colleagues! Each PD event page includes the title, description, presenters, link for participation and recording, as well as a check box to show your interest and/or participation in the event.

If you have questions or comments, please contact Beth Raney at beth.raney@extension.org.